Minutes of REGULAR MEETING

The Board of Education Wausau School District

DRAFT

A Special Meeting of the Board of Education of the Wausau School District was held Monday, April 28, 2025, beginning at 5:00 PM in the Nicholson Board Room, 415 Seymour Street, Wausau, Wisconsin 54403.

Present: James Bouche; Sarah Brock; Jon Creisher; Nick Crochiere; Pat McKee; Jennifer Paoli; Cory Sillars; Lance Trollop.

Absent: Jane Rusch;

I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 5:00 pm.

II. Election of Officers: Cale Bushman, Secretary Pro Tem Report from Deputy Clerk

Cale Bushman was named Secretary Pro Tem and Ms. Peck read the Leadership Choices Report.

Mr. Bushman shared that Mr. Bouché had declared himself a candidate for the role of President. There were no other nominations from the floor. Mr. Sillars moved to close nominations seconded by Mr. Trollop. The motion carried.

The Board voted and Mr. Bouche was declared President.

Mr. Bushman shared that Mr. Trollop had declared himself as candidates for the role of Vice President. There were no other nominations from the floor. Ms. Brock moved to close nominations seconded by Mr. Sillars. The motion carried. The Board voted and Mr. Trollop was declared Vice President.

Mr. Bushman shared that Mr. Creisher and Ms. Brock had declared themselves as candidates for the role of Treasurer. Mr. Creisher asked that his name be removed as a candidate. There were no other nominations from the floor. Mr. Bouche moved to close nominations seconded by Mr. Trollop. The motion carried.

The Board voted and Ms. Brock was declared Treasurer.

Mr. Bushman shared that no one had declared themselves as a candidate for the role of Clerk. Mr. Bouche nominated Mr. Sillars for Clerk, seconded by Mr. Trollop. There were no other nominations from the floor. Mr. Bouche moved to close nominations seconded by Ms. Brock. The motion carried. The Board voted and Mr. Sillars was declared Clerk.

Ms. Brock moved to appoint Cassie Peck as Board Secretary and Deputy Clerk, seconded by Ms. Paoli. The motion carried 8-0.

Mr. Bushman congratulated the Board Officers and turned the meeting over to President Bouche.

III. Appoint Audit of the Bills Committee Chair and Membership

President Bouché appointed Sarah Brock to serve as the chair and Jennifer Paoli, Nick Crochiere, and Lance Trollop to the membership of the Audit of the Bills Committee.

IV. Elect Delegate and Alternate Delegate to 2026 Delegate Assembly (January 21-23, 2026) (Action Requested)

President Bouche moved to nominate Jane Rusch as the Delegate to the 2026 Delegate Assembly, seconded by Lance Trollop. The motion carried 8-0.

President Bouche moved to nominate Nick Crochiere as the Alternative Delegate to the 2026 Delegate Assembly, seconded by Lance Trollop. The motion carried 8-0.

V. Appoint Board Member to the Wausau School Foundation

President Bouché appointed Sarah Brock to serve as the representative to the Wausau School Foundation.

VI. Elect Board Member Representative to CESA 9 Annual Convention (August 4, 2025) (Action Requested)

President Bouché moved to nominate Cory Sillars to serve as the CESA 9 Representative, seconded by Lance Trollop. The motion carried 9-0.

VII. Appoint Legislative Liaison

President Bouché appointed Cory Sillars to serve as the Legislative Liaison.

VIII. Appoint WECAN Consortium Committee Member

President Bouché appointed Jon Creisher to serve as the representative to the WCAN Consortium Committee.

IX. Appoint Union Contract Negotiating Committee

President Bouché appointed Jon Creisher, Pat McKee, and Sarah Brock to serve on the Union Contracting Committee.

X. Appoint Gifted and Talented Committee Member

President Bouché appointed Sarah Brock to serve as the representative to the Gifted and Talented Committee.

XI. Appoint Liaison to the Marathon County Extension, Education, and Economic Development Committee

President Bouché appointed Jennifer Paoli to serve as the Liaison to the Marathon County Extension, Education, and Economic Development Committee.

XII. APPROVE CONSENT AGENDA (Action Requested)

- A. Appointments (Additional Staff, Replacement Staff, Contract Increases)
 Briley Wagner (special Education Teacher/John Marshall) 1.0 FTE, effective
 8/25/25; Cassandra Lezotte (English Teacher/West) 1.0 FTE, effective 8/25/25;
 Alma Pierce (School Social Worker/Mann & Montessori) 1.0 FTE, effective
 8/25/25; Chloe Schroeder (Grade 1 Teacher/Riverview) 1.0 FTE, effective 8/25/25;
 Alex Derfus (Special Education Teacher/John Muir) 1.0 FTE, effective 8/25/25;
 Daniel Saylor (PE/Health Teacher/East & WAVE) 1.0 FTE, effective 8/25/25;
 Christine Melville (Grade 1 Teacher/Marshall) 1.0 FTE, effective 8/25/25; Megan
 Lee (Special Education Teacher/Jones & Red Granite) 1.0 FTE, effective 8/25/25.
- B. Separations (Resignations, Contract Decreases, Terminations)
 Amy Van Alstine (School Psychologist/Marshall & Rib Mountain) 1.0 FTE,
 effective 6/9/25; Abbey Peterson (English/Language Arts Teacher/Mann) 1.0 FTE,
 effective 6/9/25;
- C. Leaves of Absence Megan Derfus (2nd Grade Teacher/Marshall) 1.0 FTE, effective 4/21/25;
- D. Retirements

Karen Hill (Math Teacher/West) 1.0 FTE, effective 6/9/25; Amy Jaglinski (Grade 3 Teacher/Stettin) 1.0 FTE, effective 6/9/25.

Cory Sillars moved to approve the consent agenda, seconded by Sarah Brock. The motion carried 8-0.

XIII. Adjourn

Lance Trollop moved to adjourn, seconded by Jon Creisher. The motion carried at 5:12 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Cory Sillars, Board Clerk

CS:cp