MINUTES BEEVILLE INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT MAY 15, 2012

A regular meeting of the Beeville Independent School District Board of Trustees was called to order in the board room of the administration offices at 5:06 p.m. by President Nick Cardenas. Other members present were Tom Beasley, Velma Elizalde, John Fish, and Kevin Behr. Others present were Superintendent, Dr. Sue Thomas; Deputy Superintendent, Erasmo Rodriguez; Executive Director for Finance, Linda O'Connell; Executive Director for Special Ed and Special Programs, Cindy Clendennen; members of the staff, faculty, and guests.

Matt Huie arrived at 5:16 pm. Viola Salazar was absent.

5:06 PM: Closed session as authorized by Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code Sections 551.071-551.084 to consider and discuss purchase, exchange, lease, or value of real property; employment of personnel; and personnel.

6:05 PM: Open meeting to consider action, decision, or vote with regard to purchase, exchange, lease, or value of real property; employment of personnel; and personnel.

Matt Huie made the motion to approve employment of personnel as presented. The motion was seconded by Tom Beasley and carried by unanimous vote.

AC Jones High School Senior Athlete Brody Benavides conducted the presentation of colors/pledge of allegiance and prayer.

The Board recognized the following AC Jones High School teams:

ACJHS Tennis ACJHS Girls Basketball ACJHS Girls and Boys Soccer ACJHS Girls Softball and Boys Baseball ACJHS Girls and Boys Track

The Board also recognized outgoing Board Vice-President Tom Beasley for his 9 years of service. Mr. Beasley gave a parting address to the Board and audience.

Mr. Cardenas welcomed visitors and asked for comments. No comments were made.

John Fish made the motion to approve the items on the consent agenda. The motion was seconded by Tom Beasley and carried by unanimous vote. The following items were approved:

- A. April 10, 2012 Board Meeting Minutes
- B. April 2012 Monthly Expenditures

Dr. Thomas reviewed BISD history from May 8, 1935.

BOARD MINUTES

Athletic Director Troy Moses gave an update on the Athletic Program.

Cindy Clendennen reported on the School Health Advisory Council (SHAC).

No questions on the business office report presented by Linda O'Connell.

The Board canvassed and certified election results of the May 12, 2012 Beeville ISD School Board Trustee Election.

John Fish made the motion to approve the canvass of the May 12, 2012 Beeville ISD School Board Trustee Election returns as presented. The motion was seconded by Velma Elizalde and carried by unanimous vote.

Darryl Martin was declared the winner in Sub-District I; and Velma Elizalde was unopposed and declared the winner in Sub-District II. The Superintendent's Secretary Minnie Sandoval administered the oath of office to the newly elected board members.

Kevin Behr left at 7:06 pm.

To reorganize the board for the 2012-2013 school year, Dr. Thomas asked for nominations for board officers. John Fish nominated Nick Cardenas as president. John Fish nominated Velma Elizalde as vice-president. Matt Huie nominated John Fish as secretary. Matt Huie made the motion to close nominations and elect those nominated by acclamation. The motion was seconded by Darryl Martin and carried by unanimous vote.

Mr. Cardenas then resumed conducting the meeting.

After discussion, Velma Elizalde made the motion to approve the Amendment of the Interlocal Agreement for Food Service Director Between Gregory-Portland ISD and Beeville ISD. The motion was seconded by Matt Huie and carried by unanimous vote.

After discussion, Matt Huie made the motion to approve the 2012-2013 Student Insurance with The Brokerage Store, Inc. as presented. The motion was seconded by John Fish and carried by unanimous vote.

After discussion, Velma Elizalde made the motion to approve the 2012-2013 School Calendar. The motion was seconded by John Fish and carried by unanimous vote.

After discussion, Velma Elizalde made the motion to approve the Second Reading of Policy Update 93. The motion was seconded by Matt Huie and carried by unanimous vote.

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting adjourned at 7:40 p.m.

SECRETARY

BEEVILLE INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

PERSONNEL ACTION

MAY 15, 2012

EMPLOYMENT

<u>NAME</u>

POSITION/LOCATION

EFFECTIVE DATE

Lisa Black	At Risk Coach/Consultant/Moreno MS	August 1, 2012
Karen Flora	Kinder Teacher/Hampton-Moreno-Dugat ECC	August 20, 2012
Teresa Garcia	Elementary Teacher /Thomas Jefferson Elem.	August 20, 2012
Melissa Fox	Elementary Teacher /Thomas Jefferson Elem.	August 20, 2012
Elizabeth Gonzalez	Speech Therapist Asst./Special Ed. Office	August 20, 2012
Stephanie Molina	Elementary Teacher /Thomas Jefferson Elem.	August 20, 2012
Brandon Morrell	Special Education Teacher/AC. Jones HS	August 20, 2012
Joan Reichert	Elementary Teacher/FMC Elementary	August 20, 2012
Alexis Rodriguez*	Spanish Teacher/AC Jones HS	August 20, 2012
Timothy San Miguel	History Teacher/Coach/Moreno MS	August 20, 2012
Garry Sugarek	Science Teacher/AC Jones HS	August 20, 2012
Brittainie Zinsmeyer	History Teacher/Coach/Moreno MS	August 20, 2012

*Pending meeting all TEA Certification requirements and Highly Qualified

TRANSFERS

NAME

POSITION/LOCATION

Patricia Bartlett Kelly Billington Happiness Krause Ruby Loya Chelsey Walker Dyslexia Teacher/Thomas Jefferson/FMC At Risk Coach/Consultant/AC Jones HS ELA Special Ed. Teacher/Moreno MS 6th gr. Science Teacher/Moreno MS Elementary Teacher/FMC Elem.

EFFECTIVE DATE

August 20,	2012
July 1,	2012
August 20,	2012
August 20,	2012
August 20,	2012