Denton Independent School District Board of Trustees Certificates of Recognition Tuesday, Jan. 22, 2013

DENTON ISD

CoServ donating check to Denton ISD

Co-Serv, the company that provides power to nine of Denton ISD's schools, is presenting a check to the district for \$14,590.15. The presentation is being made by Tracee Elrod, CoServ Electric Area Manager, and Richard Muir, a member of Co-Serv's Board of Directors.

GUYER HIGH

Wildcats make school history with first state championship title

Guyer High School's football team made history this season, winning the UIL Class 4A Division I State Championship – the school's first in athletic competition.

The Wildcats finished the regular season with an 8-2 record and defeated Saginaw 42-14 to earn the bi-district title. Guyer then defeated defending three-time state champion Aledo 42-30 and undefeated Amarillo, 38-30.

Guyer clinched a spot in the state semifinals for the fourth time in five seasons with a 52-42 victory over undefeated Birdville. The Wildcats then defeated football power school - Tyler John Tylerin a 57-53 dramatic come-from-behind victory.

They then beat undefeated Georgetown with a 48-37 victory. The Wildcats finished the season winning 14 consecutive games with an average of 27 points and an overall record of 14-2 victories.

Guyer players, coaches, staff and students have established the school as one of the premier football programs in the state, having won a state title, played in two state championships and reached four state semifinals in just seven years since the school opened in 2005.

The Guyer coaching staff includes: John Walsh, head coach; Mitch Stovall, offensive coordinator; Lee Vallejo, Jr., co-offensive coordinator; Derek Ramsey, defensive coordinator, Casey Hubble, co-defensive coordinator, and Oschlor Flemming, special teams' coordinator.

The assistant coaches include: J.D. Aaron, Jeff Barnett, Jeff Grindle, Zane Jillson, Kyle Keese, Bryan Kegans, Johnny Kinzy, Cory Maxwell, Fred Norris, Cody Schroeder, Brian Valenzuela, Rick Wesson and Mike Weatherford.

The trainers are Jeff Jones and Janna Roper.

Congratulations to the Guyer Wildcats including the following players:

- 1 Josh Harris
- 2 Jerrod Heard
- 3 D.J. Breedlove
- 4 Michael Carrillo
- 5 Tavi Sanches
- 6 Demontrie Taylor
- 7 Terrell Singleton
- 8 Trey Woods
- 9 Tripp Reed
- 10 Austin Seago
- 11 John Schilleci
- 12 Mason McKnight
- Logan Helal
- 14 Tyler Smith

- 15 Preston Thrailkill
- 16 David Haynes
- 17 Thomas Ferguson
- 18 Derek Watson
- 19 Ellis Jefferson
- 20 Connor McCown
- Will Sanders
- 22 Adam Scott
- 23 Marcel Thomas
- 24 Terence Belton
- 25 Tristan Tovar
- 26 Tanner Hunt
- 27 Ian Edwards
- 28 Matt Mendoza
- 29 Chandler Jennette
- 29 Chandler Jennette
- 30 DeMarcus Owens31 Luke Bush
- 32 Ryan Griffin
- 33 Nate Maki
- 34 Zach Lauer
- 36 Richard Whitaker
- 37 Brad Grems
- 38 KolosUrbanyi
- 39 Anthony Taylor
- 41 Robert Champion
- 42 Domenic Pickering
- 44 Connor Allen
- 45 Greg MacAllister
- 46 Isiah Correa
- 49 Carl Thompson
- 53 Blake Timmons
- 54 Hunter Krastin
- 56 Patrick Morris
- 58 Ryan Starr
- Wade Austin
- 60 Zach Colpean
- Kyle Jaskulske
- 70 Bryan Barrett
- 72 Tyler Loya-Hundley
- 75 Ryan Felan
- 78 Mitchell Hennesee
- 82 Kyle Soltero
- 3 Jonathan Pershall
- 88 Mark Hickey

Student trainers: Emily Berry, Mitchell Coombs, Courtney Colston, Taylor Davenport, Andie Dotson, Alyssa Gallo, Breely Grenhaw, Jacob Jones, Ally Kinzy, Chloe Ramos and Kaileigh Thompson.

FINE ARTS

7 students' artwork displayed at State Capitol

Seven elementary students representing three Denton Independent School District schools had their artwork displayed at the State Capitol in Austin in a special art exhibit for the Texas Association of School Boards and School Administrators conference this past fall.

The students submitted their work in the spring of the 2011-12 school year. The winning artists from Ginnings include Adela Splawn, fifth-grader; Haley Cofer, fifth-grader, and Ithais Romero, third-grader. Those from E.P. Rayzor Elementary include Ariana Tashakkori, fourth grader; Fernando Harmjanz, fifth-grader, and Charlie Williams, who is now in the sixth-grade at Harpool Middle School. The winning artist at Newton Rayzor Elementary is Elena Mitchell, fifth-grader.

The art teachers are Kay Adamson, Ginnings Elementary; Kelley Quinn McGee, E.P. Rayzor Elementary, and Kristin Williamson, Newton Rayzor Elementary.

The students had artwork selected by members of the Texas Art Educators Association Exhibit. Their works were selected along with several other school districts across the state and displayed in the exhibit hall of the Austin Convention Center.

The TAEA consistently provides avenues for children across the state to showcase their work and promotes the importance of promoting art education and students' artwork within their communities.