MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE ROSELLE SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 12 BOARD OF EDUCATION August 11, 2020

The regular meeting of the Board of Education was held on August 11, 2020 and was live-streamed via YouTube. President Zurek called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

I. Roll Call

Upon roll call, the following Board members answered: Steve Zurek, Rob Bisceglie (via telephone), Blythe Cammy, Kim Duris, Christopher Humbert (via Zoom), Tim Layer, James McGowan

Absent: None

A. Pledge of Allegiance

The Board and audience said the Pledge of Allegiance.

B. Additions or Changes to the Agenda

None

C. Communications

A thank you card from Mrs. Barb Cross was shared with the Board of Education.

II. Visitor Input

Public Comments from the following community members were shared with the Board and audience:

1) Robert Hallahan (via email)

III. Superintendent Report

Superintendent Henderson reviewed the following topics with the Board:

- Silver Linings
- Update on Opening of Year
- Presentation of the FY21 Tentative Budget

IV. Approval of Consent Agenda Items

- A. Regular Meeting Minutes for July 21, 2020
- B. Regular Meeting Minutes for August 4, 2020
- C. Closed Session Minutes for August 4, 2020
- D. Accounts Payable for August, 2020

Motion by Secretary Layer and seconded by Vice-President McGowan to approve the Consent Agenda as submitted.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Tim Layer, James McGowan, Steve Zurek, Blythe Cammy, Kim Duris,

Chris Humbert NAYS: None

ABSTAIN: Rob Bisceglie

The Motion Carried.

V. Action Items

A. Accept PTO Donation in Accordance with Policy 8:80, Gifts to District Motion by Member Cammy and seconded by Member Bisceglie to accept the PTO donation in accordance with policy 8:80, gifts to district.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Blythe Cammy, Rob Bisceglie, Steve Zurek, Kim Duris, Chris Humbert, Tim

Layer, James McGowan

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The Motion Carried.

B. Personnel Report

Motion by Vice-President McGowan and seconded by Secretary Layer to approve the Personnel Report as presented.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: James McGowan, Tim Layer, Steve Zurek, Rob Bisceglie, Blythe Cammy,

Kim Duris, Chris Humbert

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The Motion Carried.

C. Adopt the FY21 Tentative Budget

Motion by Member Bisceglie and seconded by Secretary Layer to adopt the FY21 Tentative Budget as presented.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Rob Bisceglie, Tim Layer, Steve Zurek, Blythe Cammy, Kim Duris, Chris

Humbert, James McGowan

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The Motion Carried.

D. Selection of Auditing Firm

Motion by Member Cammy and seconded by Vice-President McGowan to approve WIPFLI as the district's auditors beginning with the FY20 audit.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Blythe Cammy, James McGowan, Steve Zurek, Rob Bisceglie, Kim Duris,

Tim Layer, Chris Humbert

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None The Motion Carried.

VI. Board Communication and Discussion

None

VII. Closed Session

Motion by Member Bisceglie and seconded by Member Duris that the board adjourn to Closed Session at 8:05 p.m., pursuant to 5ILCS 120/2(c)(1) to discuss the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees of the public body with no action to be taken and 5ILCS 120/2(c)(11) Litigation, when an action against, affecting or on behalf of the particular public body has been filed and is pending before a court or administrative tribunal, or when the public body finds that an action is probable or imminent, in which case the basis for the finding shall be recorded and entered into the minutes of the closed meeting.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Rob Bisceglie, Kim Duris, Steve Zurek, Blythe Cammy, Chris Humbert, Tim

Layer, James McGowan

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The Motion Carried.

Motion by President Member Cammy to return to Open Session at 10:27 p.m.

ROLL CALL:

AYES: Blythe Cammy, Steve Zurek, Rob Bisceglie, Kim Duris, Chris Humbert, Tim

Layer, James McGowan

NAYS: None ABSTAIN: None

The Motion Carried.

VIII. Adjournment

Motion by Member Cammyy to adjourn the meeting at 10:27 p.m.

On a voice vote, all members voted aye.

The Motion Carried.

Steve Zurek, President	
·	
Timothy Laver, Secretary	

Date Approved: September 22, 2020