2015-16 School District Evaluation of Performance in Community & Student Engagement

Community Engagement Rating

 HB 5 created Community and Student Engagement Accountability Rating (TEC 39.0545 – Section 46 of HB 5)

• We are here to present the outcomes of the surveys.

What is the purpose of TEC 39.0545?

- In 2011 and in 2013 legislators were hearing from parents, students, teachers, administrators, local business groups, school boards and others that there was an over-emphasis on standardized testing
- To evaluate community and student engagement
- Districts and campuses showcase where they are excelling and where there is room for improvement
- To tell the story of what is happening in districts and on campuses when it's not a testday
- An opportunity to highlight community values

Nine factors are evaluated

- Fine arts
- Wellness and physical education
- Community and parent involvement
- 21st Workforce development program
- 2nd language acquisition
- Digital language acquisition program
- Dropout prevention strategies
- Educational programs for GT students
- Compliance with statutory reporting and policy requirements

Process

- 4 community meetings were held across the district to solicit parent/ community participation in updating the Community Engagement Survey questions for the 9 required areas.
- Each subcommittee met with their members after community meetings to gather community input and update the survey questions based on their subcommittee's recommendations.
- These recommendations were vetted by the full HB 5 Committee and the final survey was sent to campuses to complete with the assistance of their campus improvement teams.
- The Community Engagement Full Committee recommended that the district score be based from the averages of all of our campuses scores.

4 Ratings for 8 areas (All but Compliance Reporting)

- Exemplary
- Recognized
- Acceptable
- Unacceptable

Compliance Score

- Acceptable
- Unacceptable

Community Engagement Full Committee Membership

- Michael Adkins, Communications
- Carla Byrne, Subcommittee chair
- Thomas Crowe, Member
- Carolyn Gonzalez, Member
- Wendy Hines, Member
- Deborah Lieb, Subcommittee chair
- Mark Lyon, Subcommittee chair
- Betsabe Salcido, Subcommittee chair
- Scott Randolph, Subcommittee chair
- Nancy Vanley, Member

Mark Patrick, Subcommittee chair Julia Willett, Chair Roy Garcia, Member Heather Potts, Subcommittee chair Lisa Wills, Member Omega Loera, Subcommittee chair Elaine Smith, Member Michael Neiman, Subcommittee chair Dr. Tracy Taylor, Member