DRAFT

Minutes of the April 13, 2009 Special Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a special work session on Monday, April 13, 2009 at 6:05 p.m. The meeting was called to order by President Cindy Warner.

Members present: Cindy Warner, President; Bennett Ratliff, Vice President; Susie Kemp, Secretary; David Apple; Scott Orr, Anthony Hill and Thom Hulme. A quorum was present.

Staff and visitors present: Dr. Jeff Turner, Superintendent; Melody Paschall; Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction; Dr. Juneria Burges; Laura Springer; Vern Edin; Tabitha Branum; Brad Hunt; Chad Branum; Jean Boyd, Dr. Mechelle Bryson; Linda Cook; Todd Kettler; and Joy Smartt

The following curriculum reports were presented to the Board of Trustees:

- GPA Comparison CHS and NTH@C
- Middle School Update
- High School Piloted Schedule Update
- Standards Based Reporting
- Strategic Plan Update
- Staff Development Draft for 2009-2010

The Board of Trustees discussed the use of cell phones/electronic devices in school zones and the transfer policy between CISD schools.

Scott Orr made a motion to adopt Board Policy EIC (LOCAL) – Academic Achievement – Class Ranking as presented with the exception of changing the continuous enrollment requirement for ranking from three semesters to four semesters (last sentence under Valedictorian and Salutatorian section of policy). Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

At 9:56 p.m. President Warner declared the Board in Closed Session, as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 (Personnel Matters).

President Warner declared the Board in Open Session at 10:43 p.m.

Bennett Ratliff made a motion to accept resignations for CISD professional personnel as recommended by the Superintendent. Thom Hulme seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

David Apple made a motion to accept new hires and approve other contract renewals for CISD professional personnel as recommended by the Superintendent. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.	
The meeting was adjourned at 10:44 p.m.	
	Cindy Warner, Board President
	Susie Kemp, Secretary