

### **Board of Education**

**ACTION** 

TITLE: Consider Secondary Science Textbook Adoption

DATE: December 20, 2017

**RESPONSIBLE ADMINISTRATOR:** Dr. Ginni McDonald

**Director of Secondary Education** 

### **BACKGROUND/CONSIDERATIONS:**

Next Generation Science Standards were finalized and adopted by the state of Arkansas. With new standards, a new textbook adoption to support instruction and learning is appropriate.

In September, the Fort Smith Public Schools Board of Education approved a science textbook committee consisting of teachers, parents, community members, content coordinators, and administrators. In addition, Dr. Ron Darbeau, Dean of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) and Mr. Steve Brodie, Science Instructional Specialist, from University of Arkansas – Fort Smith were available for consultation.

Members of the committee met multiple times in study sessions and with vendors during formal presentations. Science departments at each secondary campus met to review vendor samples as a means of providing feedback.

#### **RECOMMENDATION:**

The administration recommends that the following textbooks be adopted for secondary science as presented.

If the Board agrees, the motion would read:

Move to accept the Secondary Science textbook list as presented.

## **Secondary Science Textbook Recommendations**

TITLE	VENDOR	COURSE
Discovery TechBook	Discovery Education	7 <sup>th</sup> Grade Science
Discovery TechBook	Discovery Education	8 <sup>th</sup> Grade Science
Glencoe Physical Science for Arkansas	McGraw Hill Education	Physical Science and PreAP Physical Science
Glencoe Biology	McGraw Hill Education	Biology
Campbell Biology Concept & Connections	Pearson	PreAP Biology
Physics	Pearson	Physics
Chemistry & Earth Science Volume 1 & Volume 2	McGraw Hill Education	Chemistry Integrated and PreAP Chemistry Integrated
Earth Science Geology the Environment & Universe	McGraw Hill Education	Earth Science

# **Secondary Science Textbook Committee**

NAME	LOCATION	POSITION
Steve Arnold	Southside	Administrator
Aimee Brinkley *	Northside	Teacher
Gia Bethel*	Ramsey	Teacher
Laura Blythe	Community - PTSA	Parent
Carol Bricker	Southside	Teacher
Leslie Brodie*	Parker Center	Coordinator
Tim Hearn*	Ft Smith EMS	Community Member
Thao Huynh	Belle Point Center	Teacher
Jill Ladd	Community	Community Member
Ginni McDonald	Service Center – Instruction	Administrator
Angela Miller	Parker Center	Coordinator
Terry Overbey	Chaffin	Teacher
Patti Pinter	Community – PTSA	Parent
Kelli Remy	Kimmons	Teacher
Gloria Schmidt	Darby	Teacher
Dr. Ron Barbeau	University of Arkansas – Fort Smith	Dean of STEM - CONSULTANT
Steve Brodie	University of Arkansas – Fort Smith	Science Instructional Specialist – CONSULTANT

• Denotes the official Secondary Science Textbook members.