AT A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE CAREER CENTER CAFETORIUM, 300 E. 29<sup>th</sup> St., ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 5:00 P.M., May 21, 2008, with the following members:

Present: Absent: Fay Batch Carol Gregg

Ray Beaty DC

Dr. Donnie Norwood

Tom Pace

Dr. Donna Smith Yollie Wilkins

School Officials: Hector Mendez, Dr. Steve Brown, Irene Granado, Wendy Hines,

Brian Moersch

Others: Amy Young, Al Harris, Michael Adkins, Peggy J. Hockman, Bruce Davis,

Rosie & Manuel Bermea, Paul J. Hanson, Nelda Loya

**20231** Meeting Called to Order: Ray Beaty, DC, Board Secretary, called the Special

Board of Trustees Meeting to order.

20232 <u>Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law</u>: Ray Beaty, Board

Secretary, verified that the provisions of Texas Government Code Section 551,001 had been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.

551.001 had been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.

**20233** Special Board Presentations – The following Special Board Presentations

were made:

**Permian Academic UIL Students** – The following PHS Academic UIL students were unable to attend the meeting, but were recognized by the Board:

## Calculator Applications

Matthew Truby - 1st place

Blake Meier - 3rd place

Megan Pieper - 4th place

Mark Owen - 5th place

Team - 1st place (this is the 9th consecutive win for the calculator team at PHS)

#### Current Issues

Adrain Pena - 6th place

#### Computer Science

Tommy Arenivas - 1st place Mark Reno - 4th place Dylan McPerson - 5th place

Team - 1st place

### **Editorial Writing**

Kristen Grimes - 1st place Julia Easly - 2nd place.... *3rd place regional and advancing to State* Emily Bradford - 3rd place

## Feature Writing

Meredith McKeehan - 1st place... 3rd place regional and advancing to State

## **Headline Writing**

Emily Bradford - 6th place

### **News Writing**

Julia Easley - 1st place Kristen Grimes - 5th place Emily Bradford - 6th place

## Journalism Team - 1st place

# **Literary Criticism**

Cole Weddle - 2nd place

### **Mathematics**

Matthew Truby - 1st place Cameron May - 3rd place Zachary Dennis - 4th place Matthew Martinez - 5th place Team - 1st place

### Number Sense

Zachary Dennis - 1st place... 6th place regional
Robert Anderegg - 2nd place
Daniel Whitefield - 3rd place
Team - 1st place (also on team was Matthew Martinez)

#### Persuasive Speaking

Allie Smith - 6th place

#### Poetry Interpretation

Peru Flores - 4th place

#### Ready Writing

Emily Marquez - 4th place

#### Science

Cameron May - 2nd place, 1st in Physics Team - 1st place

(also on team: Matthew Martinez, Daniel Whitefield, and Haley Fowler)

# **Spelling**

Tess Willams - 4th place Blake Meier - 5th place Team - 1st place (also on team Samantha Rivera)

6 Teams advanced to Regional contest (7 if you count Journalism)

Permian placed 2nd at the District contest (Central 405, PHS 327, Lee 224, OHS 153)

**Area VASE (Visual Arts Scholastic Event)** – LaRee Morris (PHS) presented information on the VASE Program and recognized the following students:

All-State Medalists – Gerardo Bustos (PHS) Allison Easlon (PHS)

Area Qualifiers –
Alex Lujan (PHS)
Krysten New (PHS
Magan Bermea (PHS)
Brady Allison (Ector JH)

**Texas Alliance for Minorities in Engineering (TAME)** – The following students were unable to attend the meeting, but were recognized for placing at the math & science competition at Lockheed Martin in Ft. Worth, TX.:

Aneesh Angirekula – 2 Biology –Bowie 9th Yanet Roman – 2 Team Challenge – Ector 7 Steven Ruiz – 3 Team Challenge – Bowie 9 Megan Kinney – 1 & Most Creative in Team Challenge – Bowie 9

**PTA Reflections winners** – PTA Council President Kelly Koepp, presented the following PTA Reflections awards to the following winners:

Visual Arts	<b>1</b> st	2 <sup>nd</sup>	3 <sup>rd</sup>
Primary	Samantha Soria Barbara Jordan	Isaiah Casias Ireland	Ella Hanson Ireland
Intermediate	Mackenzie Poston Ireland	Isabella Galindo Ireland	Jonathon Alverez Ireland
Middle	Nicole Richards Reagan	Bethany Lewallen Barbara Jordan	
<u>Literature</u> Primary	1 <sup>st</sup> Ella Hanson Ireland	2 <sup>nd</sup> Brinley Gwillian Reagan	3 <sup>rd</sup>
Intermediate	Hannah Fields Barbara Jordan	Hannah Weakland Ireland	Cayden White Ireland

N	Middle	Lynda Hanson Ireland	Erin Vore Reagan
<u>20234</u>	Adjournment: Ray Be meeting at 5:27 P.M.	eaty, DC, Board Seci	retary, adjourned the Special Board
	Board President Carol Gregg		Board Secretary Ray Beaty, DC