Minutes of Committee Meeting

The Board of Education Fort Smith Public Schools

A Committee Meeting of the Board of Education of Fort Smith Public Schools was held Monday, September 11, 2017, beginning at 5:30 PM in the Service Center, Bldg. B.

Board members present were Dr. Deanie Mehl, Ms. Susan McFerran, Ms. Talicia Richardson, Mr. Bill Hanesworth, Ms. Jeannie Cole, and Ms. Yvonne Keaton-Martin. Mr. Wade Gilkey was absent. Administrators present were Dr. Doug Brubaker, Superintendent, Dr. Gordon Floyd, Deputy Superintendent, Mr. Terry Morawski, Chief Operations Officer, Mr. Martin Mahan, Executive Director of Human Resources, Mr. Charles Warren, Chief Financial Officer, Ms. Zena Featherston Marshall, Executive Director of Communication and Community Partnerships, Mr. Darian Layes, Executive Director of Student Services, Mr. Dennis Siebenmorgen, Director of Buildings and Grounds, and Ms. Nadine Brooks, Secretary to the Superintendent.

Mr. Bill Hanesworth made a motion, seconded by Ms. Jeannie Cole, to meet as a Committee of the Whole.

SECONDARY SCIENCE TEXTBOOK COMMITTEE SELECTION

Dr. Brubaker reported that an official textbook selection committee will be designated and proposed for approval by the Board of Education.

He reported that recommendations have been secured from each secondary principal for teachers to serve on the full Textbook Selection Committee for Secondary Science. These committee members will evaluate textbooks and make recommendations. The recommendations will then be presented by members of the Official Secondary Science Textbook Committee to the Curriculum Committee of the School Board for approval and adoption during the spring semester.

Dr. Brubaker reported that the administration recommended that Leslie Brodie, Aimee Brinkley, Terry Overbey, Gia Bethel, and Tim Hearn be designated as the Official Secondary Science Textbook Committee who will present to the Curriculum Committee of the School Board.

Mr. Bill Hanesworth made a motion, seconded by Ms. Yvonne Keaton-Martin, to recommend to the Board of Education that the Official Secondary Science Textbook Committee be comprised of Leslie Brodie, Aimee Brinkley, Terry Overbey, Gia Bethel, and Tim Hearn. The vote passed 6/0.

Board of Education Committee Minutes Page 2

2017-2018 ACSIP ASSURANCES

Dr. Brubaker reported that the Arkansas Comprehensive School Improvement Plan (ACSIP) assurances must be uploaded electronically and submitted in Indistar annually to assure the district's eligibility for funds included in the ACSIP. The superintendent must provide an original signature attesting to compliance for each program included in the assurances. The Board must approve the assurances and authorize the Superintendent to sign them prior to submission.

Dr. Brubaker reported that the administration's recommendation is that the Board approve the 2017-2018 ACSIP assurances and authorize the Superintendent to sign the assurances so they may be uploaded and submitted to the Arkansas Department of Education on or before the October 1, 2017 deadline.

Mr. Hanesworth made a motion, seconded by Ms. Yvonne Keaton-Martin, to recommend that the Board approve the 2017-2018 ACSIP assurances and authorize the Superintendent to sign the assurances for submission to the Arkansas Department of Education. The vote passed 6/0.

2017/2018 ETHICS DISCLOSURES

Dr. Mehl reported that the 2017 Ethics Disclosures will be available for approval at the September Board of Education meeting. These disclosures must also be approved by the Board in the form of a resolution and read aloud. If the transaction(s) add up to more than \$10,000, ADE must approve of the contact and/or transaction.

Mr. Warren reported that the document titled "Continued Disclosure Summary List" are disclosures previously approved by the Board. This list is merely informative and no resolution is required. Additionally, no formal reading is required at a Board meeting.

There was no action taken.

Dr. Brubaker reported on attending the site visit for Ms. Natasha Shoate, Cavanaugh teacher who is one of four finalists for Arkansas Teacher of the Year. Dr. Brubaker reported that School Board Election early and absentee voting is September 12 through September 18 with votes certified on September 29. Dr. Brubaker reported that October 9 will be the first meeting for newly elected board member, Greg Magness. He noted that the election of officers will need to take place in October after Board Election votes have been certified. Dr. Brubaker reported attending the Professional Learning Communities at Work Pilot Project celebrations at Spradling and Ballman on August 31 along with ADE Commissioner Johnny Key and Representative George McGill.

Dr. Mehl thanked all the administrators who were in attendance.

Board of Education Committee Minutes Page 3

There was no further business and the meeting adjourned at 5:42 p.m.