INTERMEDIATE SCHOOL DISTRICT 917

A School Board Meeting of the Intermediate School District 917 School Board was held on Tuesday, September 3, 2024, in the Board Room at Dakota County Technical College, 1300 145th Street East, Rosemount, MN.

<u>Members Present</u>: David Anderson, Tom Bennett, Lisa Ehleringer, Hannah Simmons, Lesley Chester, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Mark Zuzek, and ex-officio member Superintendent Dr. Michael Favor.

Members Absent: Monica Weber

<u>Also Present:</u> Melissa Schaller, Linda Berg, Lauren Kelly, Brooke Peterson, Nicolle Roush, Mark Johns, Kate Hulse, and Marci Levy-Maguire. In the absence of Monica Weber, Kim Humann of the School Board of South St. Paul attended.

School Board Chair Cindy Nordstrom called the meeting to order at 5:49 PM.

The Pledge of Allegiance was done in the prior Board Work Session.

- 1. Motion by Mark Zuzek, seconded by David Anderson, to approve the agenda. Voting aye: David Anderson, Tom Bennett, Lisa Ehleringer, Hannah Simmons, Lesley Chester, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried.
- 2. Motion by Byron Schwab, seconded by Lesley Chester, to approve the consent items, as presented. Voting aye: David Anderson, Tom Bennett, Lisa Ehleringer, Hannah Simmons, Lesley Chester, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried.
 - Minutes: August 6, 2024, Regular School Board Meeting
 - Personnel: New Hires: Muna Adam, Education Support Professional, effective August 28, 2024. Sarah Anderson, Education Support Professional, effective August 28, 2024. Rachel Aster, Intervener Support Professional, effective August 28, 2024. Jody Bauer, Education Support Professional, effective August 28, 2024. Emily Booth, Education Support Professional, effective August 28, 2024. Mark Cabugnason, Special Education Teacher, Effective August 20, 2024. Niyana Davis, Education Support Professional, effective August 28, 2024. Mohamed Jama, Education Support Professional, effective August 28, 2024. Carleonanna Gordon, Education Support Professional, effective August 28, 2024. Marion Graham, Education Support Professional, effective August 28, 2024. Margret Gleghorn, Education Support Professional, effective August 28, 2024. Venkata Guntur, Education Support Professional, effective August 28, 2024. Hannah Lushanko, Education Support Professional, effective August 28, 2024. Marlin Murcia, Education Support Professional, effective September 3, 2024. Claire Nachtwey, Occupational Therapist, effective August 20, 2024. Peres Oyaro, Education Support Professional, effective August 28, 2024. Amy Opatz, Education Support Professional, effective August 28, 2024. Pamela Rickers, School Social Worker, effective August 20, 2024. Catherine Suflita, Special Education Teacher, effective August 20, 2024. Cha Vue, Education Support Professional, effective August 28, 2024. Abdirahman Yoni, Education Support Professional, effective August 28, 2024. **Rehires:** Joshua Kenow, Education Support Professional, effective August 28, 2024. Zachary Dobmeyer, Education Support Professional, effective August 28, 2024. Meredith Fancher-White, Education Support Professional, effective August 28, 2024. Sarah Hernlem-Easly, Admin Assistant II, effective August 26, 2024. Change in Status: Lori Wilson, Teacher to Education Support

Professional, effective August 28, 2024. Michell Dodge, Interpreter to Lead Interpreter, effective August 29, 2024. Katherine Filas, Interpreter to Float Interpreter, effective August 29, 2024. Megan Dietrich, Interpreter to Float Interpreter, effective August 29, 2024. Marci Levy-Mcguire, Communications Coordinator to Director of Communications & Strategic Partnerships, effective August 8, 2024. Rebecca Hennessey, Teacher to Education Support Professional, effective August 20, 2024. Emma Karnes, Education Support Professional to Teacher, effective August 20, 2024. *Resignations and Terminations:* Francesca Collignon, Teacher, effective August 20, 2024. Jacob Donaldson, Education Support Professional, August 15, 2024. Lacy Fischer, Teacher, effective August 16, 2024. Ramla Hussein, Education Support Professional, effective August 27, 2024. Robin Maupin, Education Support Professional, effective July 31, 2024. Perkin Travis, Education Support Professional, effective July 31, 2024. Perkin Travis, Education Support Professional, effective July 31, Education Support Professional, effective August 20, 2024. *Retirement:* Beverly Bauer, Education Support Professional, effective June 13, 2025. Lynette Spurgin, Education Support Professional, August 27, 2024.

- Motion by David Anderson, seconded by Hannah Simmons, to approve the bills from August 1, 2024, to August 27, 2024, investment report, and wire transfers as presented by the Executive Director of Business Services. Voting aye: David Anderson, Tom Bennett, Lisa Ehleringer, Hannah Simmons, Lesley Chester, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried.
- 4. Board Member Tom Bennett, introduced and read the following resolution: Resolution Pertaining to Business Transactions. The motion for the adoption of the foregoing resolution was duly seconded by Mark Zuzek, and upon vote being taken thereon, the following voted in favor thereof: Voting aye: David Anderson, Tom Bennett, Lisa Ehleringer, Hannah Simmons, Lesley Chester, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried. (Addendum A.)
- Motion by Byron Schwab, seconded by Tom Bennett, the Health Associates' Contract for 2024-2026, as presented. Voting aye: David Anderson, Tom Bennett, Lisa Ehleringer, Hannah Simmons, Lesley Chester, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried. (Addendum B.)
- Motion by David Anderson, seconded by Lisa Ehleringer, to approve the following policy on a first and final reading: 427 Workload Limits for Certain Special Education Teachers. Voting aye: David Anderson, Tom Bennett, Lisa Ehleringer, Hannah Simmons, Lesley Chester, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried. (Addendum C.)

The following contracts were reviewed on a first reading: 404 Employment Background Checks; 406 Public and Private Personnel Data; 418 Drug Free School Drug Free Workplace; 419 Commercial Tobacco-Free Environment; Possession and Use of Tobacco, Tobacco-related devices, and electronic delivery devise; 502 Search of Student Lockers, desks, Personal Possessions, and Student's Person; 532 Use of Peace Officers and Crisis Teams; 535 Service Animals in School Buildings; 709 Student Transportation.

 Motion by Mark Zuzek, seconded by Hannah Simmons, to accept the summary of Dr. Favor's evaluation for school year 2024. Voting aye: David Anderson, Tom Bennett, Lisa Ehleringer, Hannah Simmons, Lesley Chester, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried. (Addendum D.) 8. Motion by Byron Schwab, seconded by Lesley Chester, to adjourn the meeting. Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Lisa Ehleringer, Hannah Simmons, Lesley Chester, Cindy Nordstrom, Monica Weber, Byron Schwab, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried.

There being no further business the meeting adjourned at 6:04 PM.

The next regular School Board Meeting will be Tuesday, October 1, 2024, at 5:15 PM in the Board Room of Dakota County Technical College.

Clerk