Minutes of Regular Meeting May 8, 2018 The Board of Education Unity School District

A Regular Meeting of the Board of Education of Unity School District was held Tuesday, May 8, 2018, beginning at 6:00 PM in the Board Room.

1. 5:30 p.m. Call to Order/Notice of Meeting/Roll Call

Members Present: James Beistle, Kelly Kamish, Ryan Peterson, Sheryl Holmgren, Pat Kastens, Jeromy Cox

Admin. Team Present: Supt. Brandon Robinson

Members Absent: Debbie Ince-Peterson

2. Approval of the Agenda

Motion to approve the agenda by James Beistle.

Second by Sheryl Holmgren.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

3. Consideration to Suspend Regular Session and Convene Closed Session for the Purpose of WI § 19.85 (1)(c) in considering employment, promotion, compensation, or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility.

Motion to convene into closed session by Sheryl Holmgren.

Second by Ryan Peterson.

a.Roll Call

Roll Call: Sheryl Holmgren(yes), Ryan Peterson (yes), Kelly Kamish (yes) Pat Kastens (yes), James Beistle (yes), Jeromy Cox (yes)

- b. Approval of Closed Minutes April 10, 2018
- c. Personnel § 19.85 (1)(c) for the purpose of holding a statutory private conference pursuant to Wis. Stats. s. 118.22(3) for a professional staff member facing prospective contract non-renewal for budgetary reasons. Following that private conference, the Board will remain in closed session under Wis. Stats. s. 19.85 (1)(a) for the purpose of deliberations in determining whether to effect the contract non-renewal of personnel.
- d. Consideration of Notice of Final Non-Renewal of Certified Staff
- e. Adjourn Closed Session
- f. Convene Regular Session
- 4. Possible Action on Recommendation(s) from Closed Session
- 5. **6:15PM** Board will travel to Unity ADP Center/CESA Headstart
- 6. **6:30PM** ADP Graduation Unity ADP Center/CESA Headstart
- 7. **7:00PM** Remaining Closed Session Items If Applicable

Board approved final list of Non-Renewal of Certified Staff, withholding names pending notification.

8. **7:30PM** (Approx.) Citizens' Requests to Speak/Address the Board (Germane to Agenda Item)
None

9. Reorganization

a. Election of Officers

President: A unanimous Pat Kasten/Sheryl Holmgren motion approved for Debbie Ince-Peterson as the Board President.

1st Vice President: A unanimous Pat Kastens/Jeromy Cox motion approved for James Beistle as the Board 1st Vice-President.

 2^{nd} Vice President: A unanimous Pat Kastens/Jeromy Cox motion approved for Kelly Kamish as the Board 2^{nd} Vice-President.

Treasurer: A unanimous James Beistle/Kelly Kamish motion approved for Ryan Peterson as the Board Treasurer.

Clerk: A unanimous James Beistle/Kelly Kamish motion approved for Pat Kastens as the Board Clerk.

b. Board Committee Appointments

No changes to the current Board Committee Appointments.

c. Representative Appointments to School Standing Committees

No changes to the current School Standing Committees.

d. Election to Board Member to CESA Board of Control

A unanimous Pat Kastens/Ryan Peterson motion approved for James Besitle as the CESA Board of Control delegate.

e. Appoint WASB Delegate and Alternate

James Beistle appointed as WASB delegate and Pat Kastens appointed as WASB alternate delegate.

f. Appoint Recording Secretary for 2018-2019

A unanimous James Beistle/Kelly Kamish motion approved for Amanda Warner as the Board Recording Secretary.

10. Student Representative Introduction – Attended ADP Graduation Ceremony.

11. Information

a. Board of Education Member Update

Board Members commended the marketing students on a successful marketing fair.

b. Construction Academy Report – Ms. Bonnie Frederickson

Ten of the eleven students enrolled in the program completed it. It was deemed very successful. The structure built is now in Pine Park as a public concession stand. They are also planning on offering a summer session of the class.

c. CESA Report

James Beistle presented. April 12th meeting was a discussion on shared services.

- d. Standing Committee Meeting Reports
 - 1) Technology Meeting Mr. James Beistle
 - 2) Audit Committee Meeting No Presentation
 - 3) PSDC *Ms. Sheryl Holmgren*

Annual Planning Meeting was held in Room 223.

- 4). Curriculum Meeting Mr. Zach Fugate
- e. Curriculum Report Ms. Elizabeth Jorgensen
 - 1) April Agenda
 - 2) School Counseling Board Report
- f. District Administrator's Report Mr. Brandon Robinson

12. Consent Agenda

a. Approval of Minutes, April 10, 2018

Motion to Approve the April 10, 2018 Minutes by Ryan Peterson.

Second by Pat Kastens.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

b. Approval of Vouchers

Motion to Approve the April 2018 Vouchers by Kelly Kamish.

Second by Jeromy Cox.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote. (Ryan Peterson Abstained.)

c. Approval of Elementary/Middle School/High School Activity Accounts

Motion to Approve the April 2018 Activity Accounts by James Beistle.

Second by Sheryl Holmgren.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

- d. Financial & Budget Report Ms. Kara Holden/Mr. Brandon Robinson
- e. Personnel
 - 1) Consideration and Approval of the Hire of Jennifer Cox, Middle School Special Education Teacher
 - 2) Consideration and Approval of the Resignation of Jenny Benysek, Elementary School Teacher
 - 3) Consideration and Approval of the Resignation of Breanna Feyerisen, Middle School Teacher
 - 4) Consideration and Approval of the Hire of Aalyssa Swenson, District Accounting Clerk
 - 5) Consideration and Approval of the Hire of Greg Thaemert, Maintenance Technician
 - 6) Consideration and Approval of the Hire of Jessica Grams, Assistant Middle School Softball Coach
 - 7) Consideration and Approval of the Hire of Catherine Magnine, Middle School School Softball Coach
 - 8) Consideration and Approval of the Hire of Josh Grams, Assistant Middle School Baseball Coach

Motion to approve the Personnel items 12.e.1 – 12.e.8 by James Beistle. Second by Kelly Kamish.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote. (Jeromy Cox Abstained.)

13. Action Agenda

a. Consideration and Approval of Student Accident Insurance – Ms. Kara Holden

Motion to approve the 2018-2019 Student Accident Insurance by Ryan Peterson. Second by Pat Kastens.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

b. Consideration and Approval of Revised Policy 341.8 – Mr. Brandon Robinson

Motion to approve the Revised Policy 341.8 by Pat Kastens.

Second by Ryan Peterson.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

c. Consideration and Approval of Bus Transportation Contract Renewal and Possible Sale of Busses – *Mr. Brandon Robinson*

Motion to approve the Bus Transportation Contract Renewal and Possible Sale of Busses as outlined in busing financials and report attached by Kelly Kamish.

Second by Sheryl Holmgren.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

14. Adjourn

Motion to adjourn by James Beistle. Second by Ryan Peterson. Motion carries by unanimous voice vote by 8:05 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Pat Kastens, School Board Clerk