## INTERMEDIATE SCHOOL DISTRICT 917

A School Board Meeting of the Intermediate School District 917 School Board was held on Tuesday, November 12, 2024, in the Board Room at Dakota County Technical College, 1300 145<sup>th</sup> Street East, Rosemount, MN.

<u>Members Present:</u> Tom Bennett, Lisa Ehleringer, Lesley Chester, David Anderson, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Mark Zuzek, and ex-officio member Superintendent Dr. Michael Favor.

Members Absent: Hannah Simmons and Monica Weber

**Also Present:** Melissa Schaller, Mark Johns, Brooke Peterson, Kate Hulse, Lauren Kelly, and Marci Levy-Maguire.

School Board Chair Cindy Nordstrom called the meeting to order 5:25 PM.

The Pledge of Allegiance was done in the prior work session.

- 1. Motion by Tom Bennett, seconded by David Anderson, to approve the agenda.
- 2. Motion by Mark Zuzek, seconded by Tom Bennett, to approve the consent items, as presented. Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Lisa Ehleringer, Lesley Chester, David Anderson, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried.
  - Minutes: October 1, 2024, Regular School Board Meeting
    - Personnel: New hires: Stephanie Blaisdell, Education Support Professional, effective September 30, 2024. Mikayla Coops, Education Support Professional, effective November 11, 2024. Fermin Curaming, Special Education Teacher, effective October 28, 2024. Jamari Garrett, Education Support Professional, effective October 14, 2024. Carleonanna Gordon, Education Support Professional, effective October 7, 2024. Ashley Hansen, Education Support Professional, effective October 21, 2024. Anne Jayasurita, Education Support Professional, effective September 25, 2024. Ellana LaMoreux, Education Support Professional, effective October 21, 2024. Deisha Long, Education Support Professional, effective October 9, 2024. Jodeci Medina, Education Support Professional, effective October 21, 2024. Christopher Nichols, Education Support Professional, effective October 21, 2024. Addison Strub, Education Support Professional, effective October 7, 2024. Eva Mari Tagudina, Special Education Teacher, effective October 7, 2024. Richard Tiempo, Special Education Teacher, effective October 28, 2024. Nyketta Watkins, Education Support Professional, effective September 30, 2024. Sainquece Walker-Sawyer, Education Support Professional, effective October 7, 2024. Rehires: Katrina Mayes, Education Support Professional, effective October 21, 2024. Robert Keech, Teacher, effective November 20, 2024. Resignations and Terminations: Muna Adam, Education Support Professional, effective November 4, 2024. Jodi Erickson, Education Support Professional, effective October 4, 2024. Jamari Garrett, Education Support Professional, effective November 4, 2024. Mohamed Jama, Education Support Professional, effective October 4, 2024. Lauren Kelly, Director of Human Resources, effective December 2, 2024. Anna Lamphere, Mental Health Professional, effective November 7, 2024. Hannah Lushanko, Education Support Professional, effective October 9, 2024. Courney Olson, Education Support Professional, effective October 23, 2024. Vanessa Plunkett, Education Support Professional, effective November 7, 2024. Gina Running, Education Support Professional, effective December 31, 2024. Janelle Sikich, Education Support Professional, effective November 15, 2024. Janani Venkatesan, Education Support Professional, effective October 16, 2024. **Retirement:** Robert Keech, Teacher, effective November 18, 2024.

- Policies: 506 Student Discipline; 515 Protection and Privacy of Pupil Records (add guardian where appropriate); 522 Title IX Sex Nondiscrimination Policy, Grievance Procedure and Process.
- **Donations**: \$3000 from the Kopp Family Foundation to be used at Lebanon Education Center. \$1000 from the Eagan Lion's Club to be used at Alliance Education Center. Hometown Meats donation of hot dogs for 120 people; Cub Foods in Inver Grove \$50 gift card; American Legion Post No. 65 \$1,000. (Addendum A.)
- 3. Motion by Byron Schwab, seconded by David Anderson, to approve the bills from September 20, 2024, to November 5, 2024, investment report, and wire transfers as presented by the Finance Director. Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Lisa Ehleringer, Lesley Chester, David Anderson, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried.
- 4. Motion by Lisa Ehleringer, seconded by Mark Zuzek, to approve the following policy on a first and final reading: 102 Equal Opportunity Employer and on a first and final reading basix. Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Lisa Ehleringer, Lesley Chester, David Anderson, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Hannah Simmons, Monica Weber, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried. (Addendum B.)

Policy 516 Student Medication was reviewed on a first reading basis.

- 5. Motion by Mark Zuzek, seconded by Byron Schwab, to approve the READ Act, as presented. Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Lisa Ehleringer, Lesley Chester, David Anderson, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried. (Addendum C.)
- Motion by David Anderson, seconded by Mark Zuzek, to approve the Classified School Year Contract for 2024-2026, and the Amended Assistant Director, Principal Contract for 2023-2025 as presented. Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Lisa Ehleringer, Lesley Chester, David Anderson, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried. (Addendum D.)
- 7. Motion by Byron Schwab, seconded by Lisa Ehleringer, to approve the Revenue and Expenditures Report, as presented. Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Lisa Ehleringer, Lesley Chester, David Anderson, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried. (Addendum E.)
- 8. Motion by Byron Schwab, seconded by Lisa Ehleringer, to adjourn the meeting. Voting aye: Voting aye: Tom Bennett, Lisa Ehleringer, Lesley Chester, David Anderson, Cindy Nordstrom, Byron Schwab, Mark Zuzek. Voting naye: none. Motion carried.

There being no further business the meeting adjourned at 5:31 PM.

The next regular School	Board Meeting will be	Tuesday, December	10, 2024,	at 5:15 PM in	the Board
Room of Dakota County	Technical College.				

Clerk				