AT A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 5:30 p.m., June 27, 2006, with the following members:

Present:

Absent:

Ray Beaty DC Renda Berryhill Butch Foreman Carol Gregg Randy Rives Dr. Donna C. Smith Doyle Woodall

- School Officials: Wendell Sollis, David Finley, Gary Gaines, Dr. Joe Gallegos, Alma Guerrero, Robert Hand, Wendy Hines, Gay Jenkins, Bruce Revell, Randy Talley, Tonya Tillman, Gilbert Vasquez
- Jo Shedwin, Tommy Harrison, Sharon Nevans, Kenney Ross, Others: Mariann Bagley, Rene Pipes, Rue McDonald, Merle R. Dunn, Renee Claire, Brenda Dunn, Ruby Rodriguez, Connie Bridges, Alice Rodriguez, Marcos Lopez, Wayne Squiers, Alicia Arneson, Barbara Schlueter, Deanna Bledsoe, Sandra Stanley, Penny Jordan, Jimmy Jordan, Kay Whitefield, Nelson & Denise Minyard, Kallie Smith, Jordan Williams, Tonya Houston, Teresa Owens, Kirsti Ally, Gloria Pena, Adrian Pena, David Singleton, Arlyne Ragan, Bennye Scown, Shelley Van Dusen, Kasey Nieman, Carole Stevens, Jim Stevens, Jeannie Tripp, Shelby West, Chelsea Chavez, Rhonda Gilliam, Frosty Gilliam, Fay Batch, Jim Stevens, Beth Libson, Linda Holsworth, Elaine Smith, Betty Godfrey, Lora & Tara Cawthron, Beverly Ford, Mario Contreras, Christina Johnson, Valerie Glant, Jona Foreman, Randy Tular, Dustee Sollis, Floy Hinson, Marty Hinson, Mike Atkins, Mary Franco, Nelda Guerra
- **<u>19470</u>** <u>Meeting Called to Order</u>: Randy Rives, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Special Meeting to order.
- **<u>19471</u>** Citizens' Request to Address the Board: The following citizens addressed the Board of Trustees with regard to principal reassignments:

Mariann Bagley 6233 Rider Rd.

Nelson Minyard 30 Knoll Circle Special Board Meeting June 27, 2006

Jo Shedwin 3901 Dumont Dr.

Rene Pipes 14 Hummingbird

Amanda Crawford 2104 Glenwood

Richard Kincaid 3305 Claremont Dr.

Merle R. Dunn 4004 Southbrook Ct.

Rhonda Ferguson 1509 Lyndale

Jim Stevens 4 San Clemente

Beth Libson 1402 French Avenue

Recess 6:18 pm Reconvene 6:29 pm

- 19472 Workforce Initiative Task Force Report: David Boutin, Odessa Chamber of Commerce Board Executive Committee Member, presented the Workforce Initiative Task Force Report to the Board of Trustees.
- <u>19473</u> Discussion of Term Limits of Board Members Serving as Board Officers: The Board of Trustees discussed the term limits of Board members serving as Board officers.
- 19474 Approval to Develop Local Policy Concerning Term Limits of Board Members Serving as Board Officers: Moved by Foreman to change local policy to read as follows:

Board officers shall serve a term of one year. A "sit out" period of one year will be required of each officer after his/her one year term. If no other Board member wishes to be an officer, then a previous office holder may be placed on the ballot, but not in the same capacity of his/her previously

held office. After the one year "sit out" period, you may be placed on the ballot again, but this will also limit the office you may hold to one not previously held.

After Board discussion, Foreman amended and Gregg seconded the motion to refer this matter to the Superintendent of Schools for review and preparation of alternative local policy options to be presented to the Board.

Motion unanimously approved.

- **19475 Discussion of Term Limits of Board Members Serving on Board:** The Board of Trustees discussed the term limits of Board Members serving on the Board.
- <u>Approval to Develop Local Policy Concerning Term Limits of Board</u> <u>Members Serving on the Board</u>: Moved by Woodall, seconded by Berryhill to seek attorney general's opinion to see if the Board can limit number of terms Board members can serve on the Board.

For:	Against:	Abstain:
Berryhill	Foreman	Beaty
Rives	Gregg	
Woodall	Smith	

Motion failed.

- **19477 Discussion of Student Code of Conduct with Regard to Use of Cell Phones and Student Dress Code:** Alma Guerrero, Assistant Superintendent for Secondary and Alternative Administration, presented a discussion of the Student Code of Conduct with regard to use of cells phones and student dress code.
- 19478 Closed Meeting Personnel Matters Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code (Recommendation to Hire Elementary School Principals for Cavazos Elementary, Gale Pond/Alamo Elementary, Hays Magnet, Noel Magnet, and Sam Houston Elementary) [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]: No Executive Session was held.
- 19479 Request for Approval to Hire Elementary School Principal for Cavazos Elementary, Gale Pond/Alamo Elementary, Hays Magnet, Noel Magnet, and Sam Houston Elementary: Moved by Gregg seconded by Woodall to approve the recommendation to hire the following elementary principals:

Denise Shetter – Principal at Gale Pond Alamo Carroll (Wayne) Squiers – Principal at Cavazos Valaree (Tisa) Hawkins – Principal at Hays Alicia Syverson – Principal at Noel Marcos Lopez – Principal at Sam Houston

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>19480</u> <u>Adjournment</u>: Randy Rives, Board President, adjourned the Special Board meeting at 7:51 p.m.

Board President Randy Rives Board Secretary Renda Berryhill