AT A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 5:30 P.M., February 3, 2009, with the following members:

> Present: Absent:

Fay Batch Ray Beaty DC Carol Grega Dr. Donnie Norwood Tom Pace Dr. Donna Smith Yollie Wilkins

School Officials: Hector Mendez, Janet Baker, Dr. Steve Brown, Leon Fuller, Irene

Granado, Wendy Hines, Brian Moersch, Randy Talley, Tonya

Tillman, Gilbert Vasquez

Others: Mike & Beth Lewis, Tiffany Leffevers, Roy Garcia, Tony Parris, Hugh

Koenig, Kay Koenig, Linda Crutcher, Leslie Coombes, Amy Bailey, Patty Kinnaird, Laurie DeCain, Leah Cicio, Claudio Ruene, Emily Osborn, Sally Osborn Claudia Carey, Justin Slater, Hazel Pace, Roy Waggoner, Mike Barker, Michael Adkins, Al Harris, Mike Atkins, Ann

Suiter, Nelda Loya

20436 Meeting Called to Order: Carol Gregg, Board President, called the Special Board of Trustees Meeting to order.

Level III Grievance Hearing: A Closed Level III Grievance Hearing was

20437 held from 5:33 – 6:31 PM.

Closed Meeting - (Level III Grievance Hearing - Section 551.082 and 20438 Section 551.821 of the Texas Government Code [Board will deliberate a matter involving discipline of a public school child and will deliberate a matter regarding a public student]): Carol Gregg, Board President, convened the Board of Trustees in Executive Session at 6:33 PM.

> Carol Gregg, Board President, stated the Board ended its Closed or Executive Session at 7:05 P.M.

20439

Approval to take Action on Level III Grievance: Moved by Smith, seconded by Wilkins that the punishment was excessive, but the Board will uphold punishment, with exception that Claire Osborn be allowed to reaudition at the next opportunity and further the Board suggests that the constitutions of extra-curricular organizations be reviewed in order to create consistency.

For Against
Batch
Rorwood
Beaty
Gregg
Pace
Smith
Wilkins

Motion carried.

20440

<u>Adjournment</u>: Carol Gregg, Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at 7:06 PM.

Board President Board Secretary
Carol Gregg Fay Batch